Rhode Island Board of Review with pictures

Filing An Appeal

Referee Hearings

Filing An Appeal


On-line Appeal Form

Search Past Cases

Directions

RI Unemployment Insurance  Laws

Temporary Disability Insurance Laws

Rules & Regulations

Links

When to Submit an Appeal - You must file your appeal within 15 days of the mailing date on the initial Department decision.  Appeals from the initial Department decisions must be filed by letter, fax or phone to the Central Adjunction Unit of the Department of Labor and Training.

Central Adjudication Unit
1511 Pontiac Avenue
Cranston, RI 02920
Phone: (401) 462-8300
Fax: (401) 462-8318

Appeals from a Referee's Decision to the Board of Review must be filed in writing directly with the Board of Review within 15 days of the mailing date in the Referee's decision:

Board of Review
Center General Complex
74 West Road, Hazard Bldg., 1st Floor
Cranston, RI 02920

Phone: (401) 462-9400
Fax: (401) 462-9401
E-mail: bor@dlt.ri.gov

Your Scheduled Hearing - You will receive a Notice of Referee Hearing, stating when and where the appeal hearing will take place.  Your hearing may be held by telephone.  Carefully note the DATE, TIME, and LOCATION of the hearing.  If it is a telephone hearing, you will receive a copy of all documents in your file.  

You must make every effort to attend the hearing.  Only if you have a very important commitment that absolutely cannot be changed should you request a postponement.  Generally, hearings will not be postponed for personal reasons, vacations, plant closing or business appointments.

Prepare for your Hearing and Gather Evidence - This appeal hearing may be your last opportunity to present your case, so be thoroughly prepared.

Unemployment Compensation appeal hearing are called "de novo", which is latin for "from the beginning".  This means your hearing will be truly impartial and independent of the initial decision that granted or denied your benefits.  The Referee who conducts the hearing is not bound by the initial decision and will base his/her decision only on the evidence and testimony presented at the hearing.  This is a VERY important point.

If documents, letters, statements or any other types of evidence were previously presented at to the unemployment office, and could be helpful to your case, YOU are responsible for making sure they are presented again at your appeal hearing.  Decide who your witnesses will be, if any, and make sure they will attend your hearing.  Before the hearing, you and your attorney, or authorized representative have the right to review the case file.


Referee Hearings  |  Filing an Appeal  |  Search Past Cases | Contact Us |   Board of Review Home | DLT Home

Rhode Island Board of Review
Center General Complex, 74 West Road, Hazard Bldg., 1st Floor
Cranston, RI 02920
Phone (401) 462-9400 | Fax (401) 462-9401
email BOR@dlt.ri.gov